University holds 17th Annual New Student Induction Ceremony


By Marvin Monroe

The Reinhardt University Student Activities Council held its 17th annual New Student Induction Ceremony on Thursday, Aug. 25, at the Falany Performing Arts Center. More than 475 traditional students and 150 non-traditional students are new to Reinhardt this year and were invited to participate in the ceremonial event.

The New Student Induction Ceremony held every fall has become a tradition for the Reinhardt community. Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Student Activities, Dr. Walter May explained that the induction is to integrate the new students into the culture of Reinhardt and to show pride for the school that they will become a part of. The signing of the honor code seals this pride.

“The two signed honor codes are displayed for the four years that they [the students] are here and [it is] brought out during reunions,” Dr. May said.

In the early 2000’s, then-University President William A. Nevious commissioned a written version of an honor code. Sophomore student Lonnie Lacey wrote that code. A few years later, students rewrote the code to include faculty members in addition to students. Dr. May explained how the code is now a “shared meaning” between faculty, staff and students.

Dr. Roberts reads his poem "Thrive"
Dr. Roberts reads his poem “Thrive”

The 90-minute formal ceremony included a short prelude of Shine, Jesus, Shine by Graham Kendrick, followed by the processional of professors wearing formal academic regalia. Faculty Senate President, Dr. Danielle Satre provided introductory remarks and Rev. Ted Goshorn, University Minister to Students, delivered the invocation prayer. Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Mark Roberts, read his poem “Thrive,” which was written for Dr. Kina Mallard’s Inauguration. President Mallard gave a charge to the students.

“When you are frustrated, when you are hungry and lonely, and when you want to quit, when relationships fail you and when you’re not as successful as you hope you would be, take yourselves back to tonight and hold on to the possibilities that you envisioned,” she said.

Dean of the School of Math and Science, Dr. Jacob Harney, presented the keynote address and recited the Honor Pledge. Student Government Association President, Katie Purcell, after she led the signing of the Honor Pledge, led the formal induction for the Class of 2020. The ceremony concluded with a benediction prayer offered by Rev. Goshorn.

Before departing, the Class of 2020 gathered for a group picture.


Class of 2020 picture compliments of RU Marketing Department.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email